Book Blogger Hop: Favorite blog and genre avoidance

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. This week’s question: What blogger inspires you? It can be any kind, it doesn’t have to be a book blog.

New? Please follow along via Facebook, email, twitter or RSS. Leave a comment letting me know and I’ll do my best to reciprocate!

Hmmm…if you asked me on any given day, my answer might be different depending on whose blog I had just read. Today I’ll go with Making it Lovely. She’s a mother of two small children (similar in ages to mine), interior designer, and a fabulous blogger – while still managing to live in a lovely and stylish home with gorgeous personal style. Not to mention, she has a fabulous library she managed to design from Ikea!

This week’s question is: What genre will you NEVER read?

I don’t think there is a genre I will never read, I will give almost anything a try and there is almost always an exception to the rule (in regards to books I enjoy, i.e. I don’t like westerns, but loved The Sisters Brothers).
What about you? Whose blog inspires you? Any genres you just can’t read?

18 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Favorite blog and genre avoidance

  1. donnablhmistress

    I am loving reading everyone’s answer to this week’s question.

    as for second part, I will try just about anything at least once.
    My FF

    Reply
    1. Rory O'Connor Post author

      Thanks! I do spend a lot of time on Apartment therapy and hone design blogs, we’re currently renovating our house so I need all the inspiration I can get!

      Reply
  2. Jennifer

    Stopping by from the blogger hop..hello! I’ll have to check out your favorite blog, thanks for sharing.

    I’ll give *nearly* any book a fair try but I do have a few no-no genres 😉

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  3. Shan

    I felt the same way about The Sisters Brothers! I don’t like Westerns but love that one, which showed me that I should give things a chance and if it’s not my cup of tea, I can put it down.
    Here’s mine

    Reply
  4. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books)

    I was tempted to say westerns, too, except I could think of a few that I did enjoy. So, the only genre I can say—without hesitation—that I will never, ever read is erotica. Other than that, I’m willing to try just about any book as long as it sounds intriguing.

    Happy Hopping!

    Reply
  5. Kaitlin

    I used to be addicted to westerns when I was a kid, and I especially loved anything with Native Americans haha. Oh, how tastes change. Hmm, I think the one genre I usually avoid is YA realistic fiction. I dunno, I just can’t get into it. (Though sometimes I make exceptions).

    Kaitlin
    Read. Write. Love.

    Reply
  6. Shay @365 Books A Year

    Thanks for visiting my FF. I’m following you through RSS. I pretty much will try any genre. There are obviously some I prefer and others I’m not really crazy about. But, I think a really great book is a really great book. I don’t really read romance books or erotica.

    Reply
  7. Vickie

    Personally for me it is Poetry…I don’t like it and most of the time it just annoys me. And menage, I only need one other naked person in the room.

    Reply

Leave a comment